Review of Crest Cafe in San Diego

Breakfast is THE most important meal of the day, or so I hear…so shouldn’t it be scrumptious? If you agree, head on over to Crest Cafe, an urban and hip delectable eatery in the Hillcrest neighborhood of San Diego, California.

Upon entering the restaurant, we were greeted by a cheery waitress who seated us instantly. Although the restaurant is quite modest with close-quarters seating, the food selection and taste were rather large.

Upon entering the restaurant, we were greeted by a cheery waitress who seated us instantly. Although the restaurant is quite modest with close-quarters seating, the food selection and taste were rather large.

While perusing the menu, my hubby and I enjoyed a generous Mimosa and a fresh fruit bowl. I had a difficult time making a decision between the Creme Brulee French Toast and the Pumpkin Gingerbread Pancakes. I decided on the French Toast and added a side of bacon while my hubby chose the AppleCinnamon French Toast and sausage. The Creme Brulee French Toast was cooked to perfection! It came adorned with freshly sliced strawberries and a Creme Brulee sauce. The dish was hearty and delicious. I did not get that distinct Creme Brulee flavor I was hoping for, but it was delectable. The tasty side of the thick-sliced bacon was plenty to share! Even though I really enjoyed the French Toast, I do believe my hubby enjoyed his Apple Cinnamon French Toast more! Of course I tried a piece and was surprised by the unexpected bold flavor. It was a cinnamon ooey gooey experience with large amounts of sliced apples atop the french toast slices. My hubby really enjoyed it and said he would recommend it to everyone!

Despite the fact that our bill was roughly $50, the portion sizes and taste made it well worth it. I would highly encourage you to visit Crest Cafe and give this surprisingly yummy and mellow restaurant a try.

Where: 425 Robinson Ave
(between 4th Ave & 5th Ave)
San Diego, CA 92103

Parking: They offer validated parking for the lot on 4th Avenue in the middle of Robinson and University Avenues.

Telephone: (619) 295-2510
Website: http://www.crestcafe.net

Read More

Find More of MCCN Reviews for San Diego on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

