Talkin’ Turkey- Turkey Recipes and How to Brine

Photo by Crystal Johnson

Photo by Crystal Johnson

During the Holiday Season in America usually starting at Thanksgiving and ending with Christmas, turkey is one of the most eaten birds.  Some are experts at cooking turkey.   Others are looking for the next best way to impress guest with an innovative interpretation of how to prepare it.  While are others are paralyzed at the thought of making one for the first time.   In fact, I admit to 20 years of adult age fear until someone assumed that because I am the editor of Multi Cultural Cooking Network that I knew how to prepare one.  She was a born in India but grew up the first half of her life in England and has now lived in the states for over 20 years.  Her family wanted an American Thanksgiving meal.  She was all set to prepare Indian food so she asked for my help. I put on my best poker face and talked her through and helped with the turkey, ham and other holiday sides.  The point is she didn’t know we were both experiencing preparing our very first Thanksgiving turkey.  My dad and my mother had shown me different techniques over the years.  It sunk in.  I just didn’t know it.  My dad showed me how to brine. It is  a sure fire way for a flavorful  turkey.  Also don’t be ashamed of the turkey bag.  If it is your first time and you fear having a dry turkey then use the bag. – Crystal A. Johnson, MCCN Editor and Chief

 Here are some recipes and techniques

Leave a Reply

