Interracial Perspective: Wentworth Miller on the “What are You Question?”

Actor Wentworth Miller of Prison Break fame gains a behind the scenes credit as writer of the independent film Stoker featuring Nicole Kidman.  He graduated from Princeton University with a degree in English Literature.  Thus, the move from actor to writer is not a great leap.    Ivy League college runs in the family as his father is graduate of Yale.

The actor of African-American and Caucasian descent was born in England to American parents.  His father’s paternal side were immigrants from Jamaica and father’s maternal side very diverse including Dutch, French, Swedish, Lebanese and Syrian.  Miller’s mother’s side is Austrian and Polish.

With his fair, skin and light eyes, the very multi-cultural actor appears to most he may simply appear to simply be White but others question his identity.  Wentworth Miller states, “My experience is that I find myself having to constantly define myself to others, day-in, day-out. The quote that’s helped me the most through that is from Toni Morrison’s “Beloved” where she says, “Definitions belong to the definers, not the defined” – so I find myself defining myself for other people lest I be defined by others and stuck into some box where I don’t particularly belong”.

Leave a Reply

