The Languages of South Africa

Afrikaans, spoken by around 10 million people, is mainly spoken in bordering countries South Africa and Namibia. Afrikaans afs_langueretains much vocabulary and features of seventeenth-century Dutch, but also borrows from local languages, like the Khoisan languages and more widespread languages like Portuguese.

South Africa has 11 official languages.

Here is the listing:

  • Afrikaans Language
  • English Language
  • Zulu Language
  • Xhosa Language
  • Swati Language
  • Tswana Language
  • Sotho language
  • Tsonga Language
  • Northern Sotho language
  • Venda Language
  • Southern Ndebele language

Info from

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s