Downtown Brooklyn: Review of Sofia’s Cart

Sofia at cart

Sofia at her cart.

Boy do I hate to copy Food Network with this line but “The best sandwich I ever had…”came on a unsuspecting day when I went to meet the owners ofBrooklyn Cupcakes. We decided to meet at a Starbucks on the corner of Court St in downtown Cart_smallerBrooklyn.  I was walking across the street when a street vendor caught my attention.  I simply asked to take a photo and happened to mention that I was restaurant critic.  The owner Sofia, a petite Greek woman began to make gyro for me and also a chicken rice dish.  I noticed the menu is price friendly.  Most items average about $5 bucks or less.

As the food was being prepared, I  chatted with her son, a culinary student who hopes to take the business to new heights one day.  Because Sofia does not speak much English, her son shared her story of how she got into the business that she has been doing for over 20 years.  For sixteen years Sofia, has been a staple sighting on the corner.  Trying to put food on the table for her kids is how she began feeding probably thousands of New Yorkers over the years. Like Paula Deen’s story her sons would help their mother with the business.

gyro_small

The best sandwich I ever had is the Sofia’s gyro comprised of tender marinated lamb meat over flowing on pita bread.  Ecstasy explodes in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

