Film and Foodie Review: Get Out

get-out

Actor, Comedian, Director and Screenwriter Jordan Peele must be thinking, “I love it when a plan comes together.”   His directorial debut, Get Out takes the box office by storm, becoming #1 on opening weekend.  Sadly enough, still not too many African Americans can claim the bragging rights to that feat even today.  And to all my struggling fellow writers/directors of every race my heart goes out to you too because it is hard out there for everyone, period in the business of movies.

Now, the million dollar question is should we believe the hype? Is Get Out all that?  This is a tough one for me to answer.  I typically do not go see horror films.  It is not my thing at all.  However, I don’t mind suspense so with the increasing word on the street that Get Out falls into both categories, horror and suspense it convinced me to get out and go see it.  The execution of Get Out is both original and masterfully purposely cliche.  I went to see this film because a film featuring a Black lead actor and Black director/screenwriter doing Horror which is uncommon equaled counting me in on supporting it.   If you want more of certain films made, you have to support those film in the first two weeks.   Afterall, Show business is a business.

I really liked all the acting performance but the lead actors, Daniel Kaluuya and Allison Williams both gave endearing performances.  They have good chemistry.

You will hear there is a lot of racial social commentary in this film.  All though masked in jokes, the dialogue explores the paranoia that many African Americans feel when they are in predominately white environments.   It explores the concerns that a person of color may have when it is the “Guess who’s coming dinner?” night.   Spoiler Alert- Do not read the rest of this paragraph if you haven’t seen it.  I may be reading too much into this but based on my conversations with people while in Haiti , there is a common fear of not trust some foreign adoption for fear of children’s organs being desired rather than true adoption.   Peele cleverly opts not to do a murdering frenzy but rather an unethical experiment which in some ways mirrors the devaluation of some for the betterment of other people. No killing frenzy!!  Okay, I take it back.   Just don’t expect  killing to happen throughout the film but don’t worry horror fans there will be blood.

Now, more on the matter of race , if you think the movie is mean spirited about interracial relationships with the plethora of jokes about it then think again. Writer  Jordan Peele who is married to a White woman may be sharing some insight of what interracial couples sometimes encounter.

I’m not going to say this is the greatest movie ever but this is not my genre of film yet I still enjoyed it and applaud it for what it offers.

Watch the Film and Foodie Review

 

 

Leave a Reply

