Sweet potato Biscuit Recipe

As a teenager, I use to dream of opening a restaurant which would feature the sweet potato prominently on the menu.  My family made sweet potato jacks which is an empanada filled with sweet potato, sweet potato pie and sweet potato biscuits.  This  Sweet potato Biscuit Recipe is from my paternal family side – MCCN Editor, Crystal Johnson

Ingredients

  • 3 cups (325 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
  • A pinch of salt
  • 3 to 5 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1/2 cup (113 grams) coldunsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 medium size sweet potato boil until soft.  Then let cool
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Sweet Potato Biscuit retouch

Instructions:

Mix dry ingredients with butter into mixer.  Use a dough hook.  As it mixes it will begin to build into a ball.   Add sweet potato and egg little by little.   Flour the surface you are going to use then use rolling pin over your dough mixture.   Use biscuit cutter, round cookie cutter or mouth of a glass to cut biscuits.  Place in pan and cook at 400 degrees for about 10 to 15 minutes.

Let’s say you’re not above a shortcut, try this version using Bisquick

Check out our Fun Cooking/Food Apparel

2 responses to “Sweet potato Biscuit Recipe”

  1. It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this useful
    information with us. Please stay us up to date like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Digg for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round exciting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I
    have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great jo.

Leave a comment